The team

GASP is a tight collaboration between half a dozen of research groups from the faculties of Medicine, Engineering, and Psychology conducting joint research in auditory science. For highly specialized support in technological development, specialised modelling, specialised brain imaging, quality of experience assessment, psychological evaluation, ethical and privacy issues, etc. this team relies on expertise from specialized groups within Ghent University, imec, ... with whom a lasting relationship is established. Research today has few borders, hence international collaboration is a strong asset in GASP that will be further nourished.

GASP structure

Core Members

  • Prof. dr. ir. Dick Botteldooren (FEA)
  • Prof. dr. Ingeborg Dhooge (FGW)
  • Prof. dr. ir. Sarah Verhulst (FEA)
  • Prof. dr. Hannah Keppler (FGW)
  • Prof. dr. Georgios Spyropoulos (FEA)


  • Dr. Frederic Acke (FGW)
  • Prof. dr. Gilles Pourtois (FPPW)
  • Prof. dr. Durk Talsma (FPP)
  • Prof. dr. Kristiane Van Lierde (FGW)
  • Prof. dr. Mieke Van Herreweghe (FLW)
  • Prof. dr. Bart Vinck (FGW)
  • Prof. dr. ir. Roel Baets (FEA, imec)
  • Prof. dr. Paul Coucke (FGW)
  • Prof. dr. ir. Luc Martens (FEA, imec)
  • Prof. dr. Veerle Provoost (FLW)


  • Dr. Beatrijs Wille (FLW)